Rajendra Prasad

Rajendra Prasad
राजेन्द्र प्रसाद

(Rajendra Prasad is the only president in India to have been elected twice for the post.)

26 January 1950 – 13 May 1962
Prime Minister Jawaharlal Nehru
Vice President Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan
Preceded by Chakravarti Rajagopalachari (as Governor General)
Succeeded by Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan
Personal details
Born 3 December 1884
Ziradei, Bihar, India
Died 28 February 1963 (aged 78) Patna, Bihar
Political party Indian National Congress
Spouse(s) Rajvanshi Devi
Alma mater University of Calcutta

Rajendra Prasad( 3 December 1884 – 28 February 1963) was an Indian politician and educator. He was one of the architects of the Indian Republic, having drafted its first constitution and serving as the first president of independent India (26 January 1950 – 13 May 1962).

During the independence movement, he left his law work and joined the Congress Party, playing a prominent role in the Indian Independence Movement. He served as the president of the Constituent Assembly that drafted the first constitution of the Republic, which lasted from 1948 to 1950. He also became the first Minister of Food and Agriculture in the year 1946 in the Interim national Government.

for more infor mation

For Daily GK Updates Like Facebook